Sector Report
Information Technology Index Tracking — Briefing as of July 2026
The Information Technology sector is tracked by large, liquid funds from four major issuers, each tracking a distinct index with subtly different constituent universes and weighting methodologies. The four primary vehicles covered here are the State Street Technology Select Sector SPDR ETF (XLK), the Vanguard Information Technology ETF (VGT), the Fidelity MSCI Information Technology Index ETF (FTEC), and the iShares U.S. Technology ETF (IYW). Together they cover the three main index families for U.S. technology and publish a range of expense ratios, from a low of 0.08% (XLK and FTEC) to a notably higher 0.38% for IYW.
XLK, issued by State Street Global Advisors, tracks the S&P Technology Select Sector Index. This index draws its constituents exclusively from the S&P 500, meaning it reflects large-cap, mega-cap-dominated technology exposure. As of the most recent available data point (etfdb.com, June 11, 2026), XLK traded at $183.64 per share. Its expense ratio of 0.08% is one of the two lowest published in this group. Because XLK's index is capped at S&P 500 constituents, it excludes mid- and small-cap technology names that appear in broader MSCI-based indices.
VGT, issued by Vanguard, tracks the MSCI US IMI 25/50 Information Technology index. The IMI (Investable Market Index) designation is significant: it captures large-, mid-, and small-cap U.S. technology companies, so VGT covers a broader set of companies than XLK. As of June 8, 2026, VGT traded at $110.87 per share, with an expense ratio of 0.09% — only one basis point above XLK and FTEC. The 25/50 diversification constraints in the MSCI methodology limit any single issuer to 25% of the index and all issuers above 5% to a combined 50%, which has historically moderated concentration risk relative to unconstrained market-cap-weighted approaches.
FTEC, issued by Fidelity, also tracks the MSCI USA IMI Information Technology 25/50 Index — making it the closest structural peer to VGT in this group. As of July 22, 2026, FTEC traded at $276.23 per share. Its expense ratio matches XLK at 0.08%. The higher nominal share price relative to VGT reflects differences in share creation history and any stock splits, not a difference in underlying portfolio value per unit of index exposure.
IYW, issued by BlackRock's iShares, tracks the Dow Jones U.S. Technology Index. As of July 22, 2026, IYW traded at $254.05 per share. IYW's expense ratio of 0.38% stands materially above the other three funds — approximately 4.75x the cost of XLK or FTEC on an annualized basis. The Dow Jones U.S. Technology Index has a different constituent selection and weighting methodology than either the S&P Technology Select Sector Index or the MSCI IMI variants, which means its constituents and weights differ from the other two index families.
Published Expense Ratios
The published expense ratios differ across this group. XLK (0.08%) and FTEC (0.08%) are the same; VGT (0.09%) is one basis point higher; and IYW (0.38%) is the highest in the group.
NAV Premium/Discount
The retrieved data provides traded market prices for all four ETFs but does not include separately published intraday or end-of-day NAV figures distinct from the quoted prices. ETF market prices and NAVs for highly liquid, large-cap domestic equity funds typically trade within a few basis points of each other during normal market hours. Without a separately disclosed NAV figure in the source data, a precise premium/discount calculation cannot be performed from the available inputs alone. This is noted transparently in the nav_fair_value section, where the market price is used as the best available proxy.
Data Recency Caveat
It is important to note that the analysis date is August 21, 2026, while the most recent price data available is from July 22, 2026 (FTEC and IYW), with XLK data from June 11, 2026 and VGT data from June 8, 2026. Prices quoted here are therefore stale by approximately one to two and a half months relative to the analysis date. No performance figures, drawdown statistics, or correlation data to the broad market are available in the retrieved dataset; those observations are noted as absent rather than estimated from unavailable inputs.
XLK Traded Price (2026-06-11)
$183.64
FTEC Traded Price (2026-07-22)
$276.23
IYW Expense Ratio
0.38% vs. 0.08% — 30 bps differential
Expense Ratio, XLK and FTEC
0.08% (XLK and FTEC, tied)
VGT Traded Price (2026-06-08)
$110.87
Fund and index overview
XLK — Technology Select Sector SPDR ETF
State Street Global Advisors
Tracks the S&P Technology Select Sector Index; large-cap and mega-cap U.S. technology companies drawn exclusively from S&P 500 constituents; market-cap weighted with sector-standard constraints · expense ratio 0.08%
VGT — Vanguard Information Technology ETF
Vanguard
Tracks the MSCI US IMI 25/50 Information Technology index; broad large-, mid-, and small-cap U.S. IT exposure; 25/50 diversification constraints limit single-issuer and aggregate concentration · expense ratio 0.09%
FTEC — Fidelity MSCI Information Technology Index ETF
Fidelity Investments
Tracks the MSCI USA IMI Information Technology 25/50 Index; broad large-, mid-, and small-cap U.S. IT exposure; structurally near-identical index to VGT with same 25/50 diversification rules · expense ratio 0.08%
IYW — iShares U.S. Technology ETF
BlackRock iShares
Tracks the Dow Jones U.S. Technology Index; U.S. technology companies selected and weighted per Dow Jones methodology, which differs in constituent selection from S&P and MSCI-based peers · expense ratio 0.38%
NAV vs. market price (premium or discount to NAV)
XLK
Cannot be computed — no separately published NAV figure available in source data; market price used as sole reference% discountest.
NAV Not separately disclosed in retrieved data vs. market price $183.64
basis: Retrieved data provides only the traded market price of $183.64 as of 2026-06-11. No intraday or end-of-day NAV distinct from market price was provided. For a highly liquid large-cap domestic equity ETF, market price and NAV typically converge within a few basis points during normal trading hours, but a precise premium/discount figure cannot be calculated without a disclosed NAV.
VGT
Cannot be computed — no separately published NAV figure available in source data; market price used as sole reference% discountest.
NAV Not separately disclosed in retrieved data vs. market price $110.87
basis: Retrieved data provides only the traded market price of $110.87 as of 2026-06-08. No intraday or end-of-day NAV distinct from market price was provided. Premium/discount calculation requires a separately disclosed NAV.
FTEC
Cannot be computed — no separately published NAV figure available in source data; market price used as sole reference% discountest.
NAV Not separately disclosed in retrieved data vs. market price $276.23
basis: Retrieved data provides only the traded market price of $276.23 as of 2026-07-22. No intraday or end-of-day NAV distinct from market price was provided. Premium/discount calculation requires a separately disclosed NAV.
IYW
Cannot be computed — no separately published NAV figure available in source data; market price used as sole reference% discountest.
NAV Not separately disclosed in retrieved data vs. market price $254.05
basis: Retrieved data provides only the traded market price of $254.05 as of 2026-07-22. No intraday or end-of-day NAV distinct from market price was provided. Premium/discount calculation requires a separately disclosed NAV.
Documented price behavior
No volatility, drawdown, or broad-market correlation data for XLK, VGT, FTEC, or IYW is present in the retrieved dataset. The source data provides only point-in-time traded prices and expense ratios. Documented price behavior metrics — including rolling volatility, maximum drawdown, beta to the S&P 500, or Sharpe ratio — are absent from the available inputs and cannot be reported without fabrication. (Data coverage: 2026-06-08 through 2026-07-22)
Limitations: 1. DATA RECENCY: The analysis date is 2026-08-21, but the most recent price data is from 2026-07-22 (FTEC, IYW), with XLK data from 2026-06-11 and VGT from 2026-06-08. All quoted prices are stale by one to two and a half months and do not reflect current market conditions. 2. NAV DISCLOSURE: The retrieved data does not include separately published NAV figures distinct from traded market prices. ETF premium/discount calculations therefore cannot be performed with precision; market prices are used as the sole reference, and premium/discount figures are flagged accordingly. 3. HOLDINGS DATA: Detailed holdings, sector sub-weights, top-10 constituent names, and concentration metrics are not available in the retrieved dataset, limiting analysis of index composition differences. 4. PERFORMANCE HISTORY: No multi-period return series, rolling performance figures, drawdown statistics, or volatility metrics are present in the source data. The time series section contains only a single price observation for XLK; a genuine trend analysis is not possible from available inputs. 5. INDEX METHODOLOGY DIFFERENCES: XLK (S&P Technology Select Sector), VGT and FTEC (MSCI US IMI 25/50), and IYW (Dow Jones U.S. Technology) track materially different indices with different constituent universes, weighting rules, and rebalancing schedules. Return divergence between these funds in any given period may reflect index methodology rather than manager skill or cost differences. 6. TRACKING ERROR: No tracking error or tracking difference data is available in the retrieved dataset for any of the four ETFs.
This is an AI-generated research synthesis for informational purposes only. It is not medical, legal, regulatory, or investment advice, and should not be relied upon as the basis for any decision. Figures are sourced from third-party data providers and may contain errors or reporting lag. Verify all data against primary sources before acting.